top of page

It Got Wetter


Post 6 of 10 before the end of 2017. Ten moments with a few words (and a few Easter eggs) to share how I feel about the year I have just lived. In no particular order because I don't play favorites (yes I do).

My eyes carry the weight of a successful day. Four weeks from tomorrow we will put episode 2 of It Gets Wetter into the world. Every tiny detail finds its place at this point. In less than two weeks we begin full rehearsal. I must have the discipline to carry out my tasks and the respect for my body to ensure it is ready for the big weekend. One day at a time.

The first time around I was nowhere near this calm. I still wasn't finished writing the second act. Everything up to that point had been added to the show because it reflected something in my life. I needed something to happen quick.

Some of the songs are obvious. I always think of lyrics as being up for interpretation. Betty is about Scotty's relationship with Betty. Feel Right is about the anger I never released in bitter ends. Chances Are is like my version of "hindsight is 20/20". Spoiler Alert: He WILL turn out to be a loser. My parents really are lovebirds and I am sorry but nothing will ever be as cute as they are.

My point is that I got a lot out of this. It was the start of my shift into full time drag. It also allowed me to shed some skin. As I rehearse for the next episode I see the same thing happening. The newspapers that will appear represent a great struggle I have with someone who I see doing the crossword often. He makes me so mad. And yes, I am done with the second act this time.


bottom of page